Canada Prohibits Sales of New Gas-Powered Cars After 2035

Electric Plug-in Hybrids: How Far?

Canada has driven another stake into the heart of combustion engines by disclosing a zero-emissions directive. The concluding rendition of the Electric Vehicle Accessibility Charter was promulgated this week and involves an embargo on new vehicles producing pollutants beginning in 2035.

Before arriving to that state, car makers operating in Canada must comply with certain standards. As of the model year 2026, it will be obligatory for car companies to see that at least 20% of vehicles sold in a 12-month timeframe are Zero Emissions Vehicles (ZEVs). By 2030 this parameter is expected to expand to 60%, with the ultimate intention of exclusively selling ZEVs by the mid 2020s.

It is essential to keep in mind that the Electric Vehicle Availability Standard does not actually forbid combustion engines from 2035. Apart from electric vehicles (EVs) and hydrogen EVs, zero-emission vehicles can also be plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) that are able to work solely on electric power. Nonetheless, these PHEVs must be able to operate in EV mode “for a specified minimum distance before they transition to operating as hybrid vehicles, using both liquid fuels and electricity.”

Nearly half of Canada’s emissions from the transportation industry originate from light-duty vehicles. The transportation business is estimated to account for around a quarter of the country’s total greenhouse gases. Therefore, authorities are aiming to attain the 2035 target in order to remove all polluting light-duty vehicles from the roads by 2050.

Canada has emerged as the latest nation to apply stress upon automakers to transition to zero-emission vehicles. Recently, the European Union decreed a prohibition of any new car purchases which yield emissions past 2035; notwithstanding, ICE cars utilizing artificial fuels will be authorized. The EU is comprised of 27 states inclusive of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic (Czechia), Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

The UK is no longer part of the European Union yet it aspires to reach the same goal of a 2035 timeline, albeit with a five-year delay on the initial plan. Countries such as Norway, Israel, and Singapore have all set ambitious goals for automakers to switch over to Electric Vehicles (EVs). There also appears to be a trend of more US states following suit in the foreseeable future.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *